+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

police certificate problems, solutions, status and how it affects my case

edacaret

Star Member
Jan 18, 2016
Hi, my name is Estuardo Dacaret and I'm from Guatemala. Me and my wife (3 kids) are doing the outland family spousal sponsorship since she is Canadian citizen. We first sent the document requirements on march 8 2,016 including medical exams. On November I again was requested to do the medicals which I did (dr even told me some number in the document they sent me meant I pretty much will get my permanent residency) and then later that month I got requested my police certificates from SPAIN and USA, since I studied there in both countries more than 12 years ago.
I started processing both police certificates but I'm having trouble, first the USA one I sent documents in November and on January I found out fingerprints weren't legible so at the end of that month I had to resend it again hoping this time it is legible. I called recently and they told me fingerprints were rejected again so on March 2nd I sent another police certificate request. With the Spain police certificates I sent my documents in November and they told me on December 14 they sent me by mail the results. The problem is I haven't gotten them (mailing service in Guatemala stopped closed for a period of about 4 months from November through early February I believe) and it will probably take another 4 months for me to receive it. Hopefully one way or another Ill find a way to get both certificates but I was given a deadline of march 17 2,017 for them (Canada) to have my results. I'm really worried and I'm afraid I could have problems due to the police certificate situation I have.