20-05-2014
Passport Req..
07-07-2014
VISA ISSUED...
14-07-2014
LANDED..........
06-09-2014
Hello,

I have some questions and here it seems to be the place to ask.

I finished my masters degree in 2010 and since january 2011 worked in the IT industry. My PGWP was issued as "open" (any employer) and expiring in jan 2014. My employer raised their concern about what are my plans for getting a PR, or an extending the work permit. This is also a concern of mine. Some questions:

1. I changed of jobs in Jan 2013, I have just read in the CIC site that I should have gotten a new WP? I thought my "open" PGWP was enough to change of employers.
2. I intend to apply for the PR, but the PR won't get until early 2015 if everything goes right (18 months average?) if so, should I extend my PGWP regardless of applying for a PR?
3. Which one should I apply first? PR or WP? Does it matter?
4. I read back in 2010 that a LMO was not requiered for the IT industry. I don't seem to find that link anymmore and the wizard in CIC doesn't let me go forward in the process if I don't have a LMO. Does that mean there are no more exceptions to LMO?

Thanks a lot!! Hope you can give me some guidance!!!

shells

Nov 14, 2012
Surrey, BC
Category........
Visa Office......
CPP-O
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
13-08-2012
AOR Received.
04-09-2012
IELTS Request
Sent Together
File Transfer...
04-09-2012
Jalex23 said:
Hello,

I have some questions and here it seems to be the place to ask.

I finished my masters degree in 2010 and since january 2011 worked in the IT industry. My PGWP was issued as "open" (any employer) and expiring in jan 2014. My employer raised their concern about what are my plans for getting a PR, or an extending the work permit. This is also a concern of mine. Some questions:

1. I changed of jobs in Jan 2013, I have just read in the CIC site that I should have gotten a new WP? I thought my "open" PGWP was enough to change of employers.