+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Passport renewal after landing but before receiving PR Cards

Sun88

May 28, 2014
Hi Everyone,

I need some information regarding passport renewal. I did my landing on October 22nd and I need to travel to my home country before my PR card arrives and I also need to renew my passport. I have following questions.

1) Would it be an issue if I apply for my PRTD with the new passport even though COPR has old passport number?
2) As I am a permanent resident, is it necessary to have 6 months validity in passport to enter Canada?

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks.

thecoolguysam

VIP Member
May 25, 2011
Canada
Sun88 said:
Hi Everyone,

I need some information regarding passport renewal. I did my landing on October 22nd and I need to travel to my home country before my PR card arrives and I also need to renew my passport. I have following questions.

1) Would it be an issue if I apply for my PRTD with the new passport even though COPR has old passport number?
2) As I am a permanent resident, is it necessary to have 6 months validity in passport to enter Canada?

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks.
1. I don't see any issues. When you apply for PRTD, the application package will state about sending photocopies of all passports that you have used in past 5 years. Thus, you need to send current original passport and photocopies of all passports held in past 5 years.
Here is the link:
http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/information/applications/travel.asp

2. I am not too sure. However, i think 6 months validity is applicable for people visiting the country. I would suggest you to contact CIC call centre to confirm the details: 1-888-242-2100. By the way, the date you will applying for PRTD, how much validity would be left on your existing passport?

Sun88

May 28, 2014
thecoolguysam said: