+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Ontario College Diploma or Ontario College Graduate Certificate?

tyson450

Nov 1, 2013
Hello,

I am 32 year old British student. I want to study in Ontario, graduate, obtain post-graduate work permit, gain skilled employment for 12+ months and apply for PR via CEC.

I have a 4 year BSc in Business from a UK university (2.2) and a 3 year LLB from a UK university (2.2).

All of the Masters level courses in Canada I have investigated have required a 2.1 undergraduate degree (from a British university) as the admissions criteria.

So that leaves the Ontario College Diploma (OCD) or Ontario College Graduate Certificate (OCGC) as my options.

Having already completed my studies at undergraduate level, is there any point in applying for diploma courses? I do not want to submit an application that is rejected when it comes to getting a visa.

I have read on here that one method of getting the 3 year post-graduate visa is doing one certificate course for one year then completing another certificate course the following year. Will the visa office really allow int'l students to study for two courses at the same educational level?

I know that Humber and Lambton offer the 2 year graduate certificate in Business/Global Business. That does not appeal to me. I am interested in following the Law Clerk or Paralegal studies in Ontario.

Any advice will be gratefully received. Thanks

canadastudentvisa

Star Member
Oct 17, 2013
Visa Office......
London
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
07-10-2013
Hello