+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Obtaining PR...please help!

Laura78

Apr 7, 2010
Here is my situation:

I have been dating a Canadian citizen for 5 years now. He came to the States to earn his BA. We have been living together for a year now. His working Visa ran out and the US government is being very strict with him...therefore we are relocating to his home city, Toronto. I am a US citizen, I am a teacher with her BA and MA in Education. I have been applying for jobs and am not being considered due to my citizenship. Districts are saying I am over qualified but they cannot consider me over a Canadian even if they have less experience and credentials. I was trying to go the Sponsership route, but as you can tell it's not working...
We recently looked into the Swap program bc I am full time, taking classes to further my MA. The only issue with this is, you cannot work with children in this six month program...so that defeats my purpose and education...
So, we then looked into the common law of living together, we have been living together for a year and all we have is a Lease, is that good enough? And does that grant me working papers and or residency?

This is such a hard subject to decide which route to go...please help!!
Thank you! :D

PMM

VIP Member
Jun 30, 2005
Re: Obtaining Citizenship...please help!

Hi

Laura78 said:
Here is my situation: