+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

New physical presence requirment

Bs65

VIP Member
Mar 22, 2016
Others can comment as well given I am no expert but where does it say work continuously to prove physical presence. Does a stay at home mother get disqualified for citizenship due to no taxable income but has not left the country ever? This is more about if anyone worked that they have met their obligations as far as taxes are concerned.

Even working continuously in Canada does not mean someone has not been out of the country for work or vacation which needs to be deducted from physical presence.

Requirements related to income tax
The applicant must have met any applicable requirement under the Income Tax Act to file an income tax return for three taxation years that are fully or partially within the five years immediately before the date of application.

If you read the info in the above link there are exceptions made where income did not met the minimum income threshold to file a return.

Last edited:
Aug 18, 2018
Case of spouses are different. We have cit 0002e form for adults which has different things to fill. I can't see this form as form is locked.

ibry

Jul 25, 2010
Canada
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
LANDED..........
I didnt work truout last year and got my citizenship this month

ZingyDNA

Champion Member
Aug 12, 2013
Category........
Visa Office......
CPP-Ottawa
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-06-2013
AOR Received.
28-08-2013
IELTS Request
Sent with Application
Med's Request
21-02-2014 (principal applicant)
Med's Done....
07-03-2014 (both, upfront for spouse)
Passport Req..
10-04-2014
VISA ISSUED...
22-04-2014
LANDED..........
13-06-2014
According to taxation act, one should continuously work for this duration to proof second eligibility?