+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Moving to Quebec after PR through FSW

TheDude89

Mar 25, 2023
So, I got PR a year ago through FSW. I've been living in Toronto since I got here 3 years ago, I work as a software developer for a company that allows remote work.

Frankly Toronto isn't working out for me anymore. My job is fine and all but I'm just not sure I like what this city is like. I've visited Montréal a couple of times and I've always loved it. I've been thinking about moving there and I'm wondering if this is doable given my current situation.

I know if you have PR you can live, work or study anywhere, but can you really when it comes to Quebec?

Like I want to apply for citizenship one day and if I were to move there would they ask me questions about what I'm doing there without a CSQ? Is RAMQ going to be an issue? Like my job is technically based in Ontario, and even if it's remote I can't really say I moved there because of that. I want to move because I just want to try something different.

For the record, I speak French fluently as well, so that's not an issue.

I'm wondering if someone can give me some advice or failing that if there are any lawyers I could talk to about my situation.

Reactions: akaur13

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
So, I got PR a year ago through FSW. I've been living in Toronto since I got here 3 years ago, I work as a software developer for a company that allows remote work.

Frankly Toronto isn't working out for me anymore. My job is fine and all but I'm just not sure I like what this city is like. I've visited Montréal a couple of times and I've always loved it. I've been thinking about moving there and I'm wondering if this is doable given my current situation.

I know if you have PR you can live, work or study anywhere, but can you really when it comes to Quebec?