+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

MAY BE A GOOD NEWS FOR OLD CASES!

NewYorker

Nov 4, 2008
This is the message received to one on the consultant from CHC - I copied this from trackitt not sure how soon we will see any change in the process timing for old cases.

This is what it says in quotes;

"I received this message as I am an Immigration Consultant and thought I would share it. Regards, Camilla Jones Message from CIC:
===========================================
Please be advised that efforts related to the implementation of the Ministerial Instructions (C-50) has resulted in accelerated processing of the older cases in the pre-C50 backlog. The applications are being activated and letters requesting specific documents are being sent out. The request letter will be sent only once and applicants will be given 90 days to produce the documents. If the requested documents are not received within 90 days, the application will be assessed based on the available information and may be refused.

We have been advised by some representatives that the document request letters have not being received, since they were sent to 'old' or no longer valid addresses. This is a reminder that it is the responsibility of the applicant, and by extension his/her representative, to ensure that the visa office has a valid and current mailing address. Notification of address changes should be sent by fax or e-mail to the appropriate visa office.

Estimates, based on previous experience, of how long a file will spend in the backlog before being processed are no longer accurate. The time that files spend in the backlog, before being processed, is dramatically changing and therefore visa offices have to be kept advised of changes to contact information.

Your assistance in distributing this message to members of your respective organizations is requested.

Regards,

Erica Usher
Director, Operational Coordination