+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Looking for advice from people that have gone through customs at Pearson Airport

Patricksgirls

Star Member
Oct 31, 2010
After four months of being apart my fiance and I decided to fly me to Toronto in three weeks for two months so that we can visit and at least spend new years and Valentines day together. The last time I drove across the border I ended up with a visitor record for no reason other than the IO accused me of lying even though I was not. I think he gave me the visitor record out of pure frustration but I complied with it. I have since been away from Canada not wanting to get hassled again. However we have been waiting for a waiver to the US for my fiance and it has not come.
So since I have that little blue stamp on my passport do you think I will have an issue even though I will have a return ticket for two to three months later? Also I cant prove job ties since I am a sub contractor but I will be leaving my two children with my parents for part of my visit so would a letter of care of my children during my visit count as ties to return?
Just wondering exactly what I should have as proof of returning......

R

robrod

From my personal experience, once you get a blue stamp (meaning you had to go through secondary inspection), you will always get subsequent blue stamps as your file has been red-flagged...
All you can do is be patient, be cool and answer their questions as honest as possible. After my first blue stamp, I always got admitted (about 12 different subsequent times)... In one of those ocassions (an after an hour long secondary inspection interview), I was admitted for only 5 days just as my plane ticket was issued for and had to report for my flight back at the airport (Pearson as well)... Officers at the land border for whatever reason are tougher and meaner (also from my own experience)...