+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

In Canada since January, Still no Job

sam_172452

Jun 8, 2015
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hello Everyone,

I've been in Canada since January 23. I'm an Environmental Engineer that's got 4 years work experience with a global firm in both the UK and UAE. I'm currently in Ontario and im struggling to find any work. It's been a real headache. I would really appreciate if anyone has any sort of advice for me? I really like living here and i do not regret my decision but the job hunt is getting me stressed!

Asivad Anac

VIP Member
May 27, 2015
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Probably because of the niche experience/sector. Have you reached out to provincial/federal support organizations in your location? These places wouldn't immediately get you a job but they are excellent resources to start building your professional network. Also be prepared to get a professional job that taps into your transferable skills instead of trying to match your past experience directly at your very 1st Canadian job - not that it can't happen but chances are that it will take longer to do that and you'll feel distressed all that time. Being depressed is very recursive so you'll need to consciously break out of that vicious circle. Hang in there and stay motivated - you aren't alone in this.

All the best!

c4luu

Nov 12, 2015
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Not sure if this will help but I saw this job fair coming up at the end of April from Newcomers Canada in Toronto, Vancouver, and Edmonton.

sam_172452

Jun 8, 2015
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
KoRnnn said:
did u get any interview? or they just totally ignore your resume?
i've managed to get three interviews since January. In one occasion the job was cancelled after they interviewed the candidates. In the other two occasions, they went with another candidate :(

sam_172452

Jun 8, 2015
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Asivad Anac said: