Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
25-09-2010
AOR Received.
23-11-2010
Passport Req..
13-05-2011
I'm pulling my hair out trying to figure out what to do. I am a permanent resident. At the time of my landing, I put my 2005 jeep liberty down as a good to follow. The reason I didn't import it at that time is because I told the border agent I was planning on selling my vehicle in Wisconsin, which I intended on doing when I returned to visit, but other circumstances prevented me from having the time to do so. I would still like to sell it and buy another used vehicle with better fuel efficiency. To trade-in the car here in Ontario, it first has to be imported. My questions are these: Would it be wiser for me to import the car and then trade it in here in Ontario? Or would it be better to trade it in Buffalo, NY, and then import the car I will have just purchased in Buffalo? I have gone to the RIV site and the CBSA site to get some answers, but am getting confused. My concerns are what would be more cost effective. I'm planning on purchasing a used car for $8000 and my 2005 Jeep trade in is worth about $5000. I understand that no matter what, I will have to pay $100 for the A/C in the vehicle and $195 + GST and HST to register a vehicle with RIV. The CBSA site also shows a $1000 excise tax on green levy and a duty charge, plus GST.