+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

How will I be taxed with my situation?

Cat15

Jul 20, 2011
Hi All,

This is my first time in the forum and I hope any of you can answer my query.

My application for PR is still on going and hopefully be completed in the next 6 months. I know that in order to maintain my PR is to stay in Canada for minimum 2 years within 5 years. Work is still good here in Dubai and I do not intend to settle in Canada immediately. Since there is a 1 year period for me to enter Canada once permanent residence visa is granted, I plan to enter Canada within that timeframe and stay for probably a month with friends and then go back to Dubai. Then probably actually move to Canada for good after 2 years of receiving my PR.

Do you see any prblem with my plan? How will I be taxed in the first 2 years of being out of Canada? Do I still need to file income tax return in the first 2 years of being out of Canada?

steaky

VIP Member
Nov 11, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Make sure you don't make or maintain any residential ties at the end of your stay in Canada or else you would be consider a tax resident.

Cat15

Jul 20, 2011
Thanks Steaky! I was just thinking to visiting long lost relatives ;D and tour around 8)...check out best place to settle in the future.

carabelli

Star Member
May 25, 2011
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
steaky said:
Make sure you don't make or maintain any residential ties at the end of your stay in Canada or else you would be consider a tax resident.

follow up question steaky....about residential ties....

almost same question.....we are 3 in the family( me , my wife, son)

my plan is that....my son and I will just do the landing formalities return to our home country.....and comeback after 2 years to permanently stay in canada. ( my wife will stay canada).