+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Few OINP International Students Application Questions

gadoken

Star Member
Jun 20, 2015
Hey there everyone, I have a few questions regarding my application:

1) Under the section "If you have engaged in full-time work in Canada, with appropriate authorization, please provide:", they're asking for things like

-Letters of reference from past employers
-T4s
-Notices of assessment
-Pay statements

There's also stuff like:
-Pay stubs and contracts

I don't have letters of reference since this is my first and only employer and I'm an international student which makes me believe that's okay. I've supplied my T4 and notice of assessment from 2015. I also don't have pay statements/stubs because we're not living in 1975. These aren't mandatory right? Will they ask me to provide these later on as they're processing my application?

2) The part where they ask me for my entire employment history since I was 18, I have worked lots of co-op jobs for school, do those count? I sincerely hope not since I was still technically a student although I did have a work permit as well. All I have put down for now is

18 till Graduation: student
Graduation till after a couple weeks after graduation: unemployed
until then till now: employed

3) Do I need to mention my high school since I was still in high school when I was 18 under work and education history?

Thanks for your time.

karenv

Jul 8, 2014
You should have your employment letter. Just go and ask your employer for a letter of employment anytime. You don't have to leave the company to ask for it.

Secondly, almost every company in Canada has pay stub / pay cheque. However, it's either electronic or paper. Many companies do not send paper but it's available online. You should ask HR where to get it.