+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Difference employment reference letter vs. Employment records vs. Letter from current employer

JanineT

Jun 23, 2017
Hi everyone,

I've been trying to gather all the documents to apply for a temporary work permit.
During the last years I have been a phd student (Germany, it's been the only position I had after completing the Masters) and I will start as a postdoctoral fellow in January (Canada).
I'm not quite sure if I got the difference between the
- employment reference letter (= main body = skills/ duties + also specific period of employment, salary, working hours)
- letter from current employer (= letter from
Human Resources providing information regarding the salary, position - which has always been the same)
- employment records (=
Since I only have one - that is the position I had while I'm a Phd student, is it the same as the reference letter?)
Right.

I'm so thankful to get any information on the difference!

Moreover, I have another question regarding the proof of qualification:
I have submitted my thesis and I also have a report of my supervisor providing information on the thesis and stating the mark. Do you have any experiences whether this information + a reference letter stating why I'm skilled for the position might be enough? The postdoctoral fellow program states that I have to complete the doctoral degree within the first three years of the postdoctoral appointment - so It would be ok for the university if the date of the defense is after I started the position.

Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks a lot!!

Last edited:

Once-A-Marketer

Mar 21, 2017
Hi everyone,

I've been trying to gather all the documents to apply for a temporary work permit.
During the last years I have been a phd student (Germany, it's been the only position I had after completing the Masters) and I will start as a postdoctoral fellow in January (Canada).
I'm not quite sure if I got the difference between the