+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Common law and visa extension help!!

Champion D

Star Member
Oct 4, 2011
Hey everyone I am new to this forum and I would really like some help. I am from a visa exempted country and I have been with my bf for seven months now and have been living together for 2 months. He plans to sponsor me via the common law route the problem is my status would expire around the eight month that we have been living together. I know I need to changed conditions of my visa to a visitor as I am a student here and my study permit will be expired. My first question is when applying for an extension to continue our relationship what should I tell the officer and what proof should I give? Also would it be a problem if i send my application 2 weeks in before my current status expires? Also to meet common law requirements you have to be living together for a year and have combined affairs, do you have to have those affairs for the entire year or is it ok to combine your affairs 4 months into the living together period. I really need help as this is alot of information needed and requires alot of research.

Thanks in advance for your replies!

CharlieD10

VIP Member
Sep 5, 2010
Northern Ontario
Category........
Visa Office......
KGN
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
15-02-2011
File Transfer...
09-05-2011
Med's Done....
17-01-2011, 08-03-2012
Interview........
Waived
Passport Req..
30-3-2012
VISA ISSUED...
13-04-2012
LANDED..........
06-06-2012
1) You may cite as your reason for requesting the extension that you are preparing to apply for sponsorship, and wish to continue cohabiting to meet the requirements for common-law. Proof includes your joint tenancy/lease agreement, proof of funds to support yourself, and proof of your current status (passport stamp or visitor record).