+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Applying for PR abroad

tkoMTL

Apr 17, 2014
Hello,

I lived in Quebec first as a student for 3 years and then on post-education work visa for another three. Since my visa expired and I wasn't able to do my PR (long-story)I moved back to the states and have been living there for the past 6 months.
My questions are:

Since I had to leave the country, can I still apply for the PR If I'm no longer living there?
If I can't get the PR, would I be applying for the work visa instead?
If I apply for the work visa, do I still need sponsorship from a company in order to be admitted (I worked in the industry of my degree for about a year in QC)?
Does it help my case at all that I had lived in the country for several years?

Thanks!

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
You can apply for PR from outside of Canada if you qualify to apply. Have you verified that you qualify to apply and through which program?

To qualify for a work visa, you'll first have to find an employer in Canada who is willing to offer you a job.

tkoMTL

Apr 17, 2014
I'll be applying as a skilled worker, having worked in my field. I presume I have the general eligibility, as I speak French and am in good health. Not sure what the other conditions would be other than financial self-sufficiency?
I had heard that it was possible to gain a work visa as a skilled worker instead of requiring sponsorship, but I'm guessing that it was actually permanent residency as a skilled worker that they meant?

hobbes

Star Member
Mar 20, 2008