+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Applied to PR 9 months ago. Post-graduate Work Permit is expiring in June 2019. What are my options?

crozy

Oct 6, 2017
Hello Everyone,

Asking this for a friend but here goes:

I graduated from a Canadian University in 2015 and applied to PR in March 2018 through the Canadian Experience Class. My initial work permit was valid from June 2016 to June 2018 so I had to extend my work permit in June 2018. My current work permit is expiring in June 2019 and it's been 9 months since yet I still haven't received my PR Card.

I called CIC today to get an update on my application and as per the CIC agent, my application is past "internal deadline" and moved to another team. CIC agent told me there is nothing I can do besides waiting.

Apparently I also can't be on an implied status past June 2019 as I can't extend my work permit one more time.

I'm afraid of losing my job and having to leave Canada.

What are my options here? Any advice is appreciated.

swar12894

Star Member
Aug 8, 2014
Did you apply for GCMS notes? GCMS might give you an idea about what is it that holding your application back.

crozy

Oct 6, 2017
As per CIC, the delay has to do with my home countries police department. They are just waiting for the proper paperwork to move my application to next steps.

sweetcute123

Star Member
Nov 2, 2016
Category........
Visa Office......
Ottawa
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
AOR Received.
25-09-2016
IELTS Request
UPFRONT
Med's Done....
UPFRONT
Passport Req..
24-01-2017
you can apply for bridge work permit

crozy

Oct 6, 2017
you can apply for bridge work permit
As indicated above, I already used that option once when I extended my Post-Grad work permit by 1 year. Apparently that permit can only be extended once.

Are there any other permits I could apply to in the mean time?

movais

Sep 10, 2018