+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Working for Canadian Company Abroad and Residency Obligations

Jan 24, 2014
I am a Permanent Resident and I would like to continue working with a Canadian based company abroad to continue earning a living as it is very difficult to obtain employment in my field in Canada. At the same time, I am doing online courses to obtain a job and to be able to settle successfully in Canada upon completion of these courses. The company I work for is the Canadian branch of a large USA based company and they have operations worldwide. My employment letter says that I am employed by the branch in Canada and I continue to work with the branch in my home country as my skills are needed there.
Would my time living abroad be counted towards Canadian residence in order to renew my PR card and later to apply for citizenship?
Please advise.

Thanks.

zardoz

VIP Member
Feb 2, 2013
Canada
Category........
FAM
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
16-02-2013
VISA ISSUED...
31-07-2013
LANDED..........
09-11-2013
Canadian To Be said:
I am a Permanent Resident and I would like to continue working with a Canadian based company abroad to continue earning a living as it is very difficult to obtain employment in my field in Canada. At the same time, I am doing online courses to obtain a job and to be able to settle successfully in Canada upon completion of these courses. The company I work for is the Canadian branch of a large USA based company and they have operations worldwide. My employment letter says that I am employed by the branch in Canada and I continue to work with the branch in my home country as my skills are needed there.
Would my time living abroad be counted towards Canadian residence in order to renew my PR card and later to apply for citizenship?
Please advise.

Thanks.