+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Working As A Freelance Illustrator In Canada As An International Student

Kugelblitz

Jan 4, 2021
Hi. I've been working as a freelance illustrator on the side for a few years now. I also do commissions. I have never received a Canadian client. Mostly from the US, Hong Kong and Singapore. I will be attending OCAD next fall and I was wondering if that would be a problem for my self-employment. As long as I don't earn any revenue from Canadian sources or any Canadian clients/company, Canada should not have any claim on my earnings. Am I correct? Do I still have to adhere to the 20 hour off-campus time limit? It would be a very absurd rule if that condition still applies, even when I'm making no revenue from Canadian sources.

blackfox

May 9, 2018
1. CRA tax Canadian residents on world-wide income. So it doesn't matter where your clients come from, you're supposed to report them all anyway in your tax return.
2. I went to my university advisor regarding the 20 hour off-campus time limit. They told me it's like a gray area where CIC doesn't have a clear guidance on it, and that I could freely contact the CIC for advice.
I don't track my hours. I was studying full time and can't physically freelance for another 20 hrs a week anyway.
I explained it in my PGWP application and got approved.

Kugelblitz

Jan 4, 2021
1. CRA tax Canadian residents on world-wide income. So it doesn't matter where your clients come from, you're supposed to report them all anyway in your tax return.
2. I went to my university advisor regarding the 20 hour off-campus time limit. They told me it's like a gray area where CIC doesn't have a clear guidance on it, and that I could freely contact the CIC for advice.
I don't track my hours. I was studying full time and can't physically freelance for another 20 hrs a week anyway.
I explained it in my PGWP application and got approved.