+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Work permit-Buying property

User66

Apr 25, 2022
I am an international student in BC and will soon apply for my PGWP. My family wants to buy a property in canada for me. As a first time home buyer what are the things that we need to make sure in terms of legality and immigration process. Also, any lead of a realtor who could guide us will be appreciated.

YVR123

VIP Member
Jul 27, 2017
Just beware of the extra foreign buyer tax. There is some exemption for BC PNP. But it's really specific situation. I think in general, having PGWP do not give you any exemption for this tax. So budget in the extra tax of the cost of buying property.

https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/taxes/property-taxes/property-transfer-tax/additional-property-transfer-tax

Having a valid work permit, student visa, or being a candidate in the entrepreneurial immigration stream to permanent residency may not necessarily mean you’re a B.C. Provincial Nominee.

moscatojuices

Champion Member
Feb 21, 2022
I think temp workers buying Canadian property is a stupid risk. Why you wouldn't wait till PR, because PR is never a guarantee, is beyond me. You likely wouldn't be eligible to buy in many areas due to the foreign buyer prohibition and the bank's concern about where the money is coming from. This just sounds financially suicidal but you sound like some rich kid with a bank of mum and dad so what do you care.