+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Will welfare help you get more technical skills and job.Please advise

George1978

Feb 1, 2015
Hello,

I would like to get some advice.

I migrated to Canada in 2012.I worked in IT field before migrating to Canada.I have a Masters degree in Computer Science and also did few other IT programs before migrating to Canada.Worked few years in the Industry as a software developer.2 Years I worked in Dubai.

I couldn't find a job in my field when I came to Canada.So for survival had to take a factory job.Worked in a factory for more than 3 years till I had a serious back injury at work.I am not in good physical condition to work in a factory any more.I am also worried about my safety after that injury.So I resigned my Job and decided to do an IT program in Canada. Thought I will get a good job after graduation. I studied with osap. I graduated with good marks.But even after 4-6 months after graduation I am still unemployed.I tried very hard to get an IT job but I hardly get any interview calls.I tried for non IT jobs too.But no response from any applications.All my savings are exhausted. My only option is to go for factory job(through agency) or go on welfare.

I really don't want to take welfare.6 years I never took it.But I would like to know whether if we take welfare then the government will give us some technical training or help us get some job etc. I am not looking for a general resume writing kind of training.

If they give training will that be in our field itself or some other field.I thought about taking welfare thinking the government will help us get placed.But when I am searching on line I found that they will force you to take random labor jobs etc.