+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Which is better place for new immigrant; Calgary or Winnipeg??

vjvikas86

Jan 16, 2016
Hello, I have received my PR under FSWP. My background is basically in engineering (B.E. Chemical). I have experience of 3 years in production and another 3.5 years in sales and business development of capital equipment (renewable technology).

I am bit confused in matter of whether settling in Winnipeg or Calgary, considering current job scenario.

Which will be better for earning and less expenditures (am single).

alexy2016

Star Member
May 4, 2016
I live in Winnipeg and I haven’t met someone yet working in a field similar to yours. And to work in engineering I believe you must be licensed in Canada and have pursued your education here first. Also, since Canada is very particular with the “Canadian experience” thing, it’s hard to get a job without this Canadian working experience; more so for jobs that require a degree. From my experience though, there are some companies that consider your previous work experience even if it’s not in Canada because I was able to get a job in accounting before.

Winnipeg is fine as long as you can stand the harsh winters. I haven’t been to Calgary but I heard it’s more fun there and the winter is not as harsh as winters in Winnipeg. I think it’s cheaper here though, in terms of rent and some commodities. I’m married but I’m living like a single person here since my husband’s working overseas and I can tell you that I can save as much as half of my pay monthly. (I take the bus, cook my meals, rent is $400 since I just a rent a room and rarely go out). I’m working for an office job in the provincial government that doesn’t require a degree and I get paid substantially.