+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Where to settle in Alberta?

Thinkin

Star Member
Jan 4, 2016
After having worked in the US for more than 10 years on H1-B (eb2 priority mid-2010, of course I am from India), finally decided to move to Canada as we got the Canadian PR through the Alberta Nomination program. With a lot of thinking we are decided not to loose the Canadian PR and let go of the H1-B as no idea when the priority date would get current. If we don't enter Canada by April 2017, we will loose the Canadian PR.

Coming to the point, we are a family of 3: my wife, my 2 year old child and myself. Fortunately or unfortunately Alberta is our only option to settle. Can someone guide us which place in Alberta would be better to settle for new comers that too from no-snow area in the US. I work in the IT sector and do see some jobs in both Edmonton and Calgary. I guess Edmonton is cheaper than Calgary in term of housing, but also heard Calgary is a bit warmer (weather-wise) compared to Edmonton. Can someone give any suggestion on which place I should pick based on personal experience to settle?

foodie69

Champion Member
Dec 18, 2015
No idea about Alberta..but the temperature is for sure the same. No such thing as Calgary being warmer.

steaky

VIP Member
Nov 11, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
foodie69 said:
No idea about Alberta..but the temperature is for sure the same. No such thing as Calgary being warmer.
Actually I heard something different. Calgary might be warmer than Edmonton because of jet stream.

Also, it's not uncommon for a PNP individual or family to move to another province for a living.

Thinkin

Star Member
Jan 4, 2016
steaky said:
Actually I heard something different. Calgary might be warmer than Edmonton because of jet stream.

Also, it's not uncommon for a PNP individual or family to move to another province for a living.