+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

When to get foreign education recognized?

BossJosh

Star Member
Jun 27, 2013
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hey guys Im an American citizen, being sponsored by my wife to move in to Canada, Stage 2 is already in progress. I have several degrees from my local university and college, here in California, I was wondering if i should get my education assessed and recognized now for Canadian employment? Is this even a necessary step for me, since Im from a Visa exempt country? I got a lot of time on my hands now, id rather get everything prepared now, so that when I land, ill be with my wife and ready to work. I have my degrees yet no real world experience so Im not sure what ill actually be doing there, yet im just being prepared now. Thankyou.

marsiangal

Feb 15, 2013
Category........
Visa Office......
Vegreville
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
16-08-2012
AOR Received.
20-11-2012
Med's Request
11-02-2013
Med's Done....
25-02-2013 DM....:20-06-2013 IN CANADA SINCE:...2008
LANDED..........
21-08-2013
Probably won`t be a bad idea. Since assessment processing takes about 10-12 weeks. I used IQAS (International qualifications assessment services.)
Btw there is a different governing body that processes the credentials in each province. This is for Alberta.
I will use it for school as well as for jobs applications.(a more professional field, rather than low-skilled jobs.) I think it`s not really a big hit since it`s only $110 dollars. I guess depending on the service fee of that province. Much better to have it now rather than having a problem about it right before having to start a job. I believe that it used to be not such a big deal to employer. But lately it has been a trend that employers ask for an international credentials assessment just to be sure if a person`s credential is actually genuine. (This is according to my colleague, but who knows. Each employer might be different.)