+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

What's the best way to show appreciation to an attorney who helped me?

kimb7462

Feb 26, 2024
Hi everyone

I worked with a lawyer to bring my mother to Canada, which took 4.5 years. Very happy to share that my mama has arrived. Now I want to acknowledge the time and effort of my attorney that she invested in our case.

What is the best way to express an appreciation for her hard work?
Shall I send her a thank you email only, or shall I get her a bouquet of flowers, a thank you card and a small gift basket and go to their law firm or only a bouquet of flowers, a thank you card? Or do nothing.
This is my first time working with an attorney and my apologies if this question sounds weird, but I want to do something nice.

Thanks

KClaire

Dec 4, 2023
All of this is reasonable. I would stay away from anything super extravagant, but flowers, food/treats, a bottle of wine if you are confident that they drink wine, etc. is a kind gesture. Some firms might have policies that contain restrictions on gifts from clients, but it's likely not a complete prohibition. You could ask her first. Lawyers definitely appreciate kind words above all else, whether in email or in a card. (Especially if they aren't a partner, because sometimes client feedback is useful to them in annual performance reviews or bonus discussions with their employer or supervising lawyer!) The only caveat I would add: unless you've developed a VERY friendly/casual relationship with them over the years - I wouldn't plan an unscheduled stop into the firm. She probably has busy and highly scheduled days, so it may to tricky or stressful to make time for an unscheduled client.

Kaibigan

Champion Member
Dec 27, 2020
Hi everyone

I worked with a lawyer to bring my mother to Canada, which took 4.5 years. Very happy to share that my mama has arrived. Now I want to acknowledge the time and effort of my attorney that she invested in our case.