+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

What is "current territory/country of residence"? and TRV-relevant question

khanhtrinh

May 30, 2016
1. I'm Vietnamese. My passport is issued in Vietnam. I am studying in Switzerland and have a residence permit to study here. So can I make Switzerland my "current country/territory of residence" when answering the questionnaire? Or my country of residence is still Vietnam?
2. I am applying online. I need a TRV along with a student permit. But my online application site shows that the field to upload TRV form is Optional. I'm confused.
3. If my application is approved, how can I get the TRV? Do I have to bring my passport to the VAC? There is no VAC in Switzerland, and I will have to go to France/Germany to give biometrics. If I have to go there again for TRV then it will be costly.

Retribution Seeker

Star Member
May 10, 2016
Visa Office......
Doha, Qatar.
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
20-04-2016
Med's Request
24-06-2016
Med's Done....
26-06-2016
Passport Req..
01-08-2016
If you're living at Switzerland at the moment then your current country/territory of residence is Switzerland. Regarding TRV I think you get that later when you get to Canada, not sure tho.

canuck_in_uk

VIP Member
May 4, 2012
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
06/12
khanhtrinh said:
1. I'm Vietnamese. My passport is issued in Vietnam. I am studying in Switzerland and have a residence permit to study here. So can I make Switzerland my "current country/territory of residence" when answering the questionnaire? Or my country of residence is still Vietnam?
2. I am applying online. I need a TRV along with a student permit. But my online application site shows that the field to upload TRV form is Optional. I'm confused.