+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

What came first, the chicken or the egg? (ie the job offer or the work permit?)

Brown eyed girl

Nov 16, 2008
Hi guys,

Hello from rainy old England. I am new to this site, so please bear with me if my questions have been answered before.

Hubby and I applied for PR last April 08 (not fully realizing rules had changed) as we scored about 72 in the initial assessment under the skilled worker catagory. Although nobody knows what the list of 38 occupations is going to contain, I am not holding much hope that my job would come remotely close to any of the 38 Most Wanted :) I work as a Welfare and Benefits Officer for a local Government agency, whilst my husband works as multi-drop driver/courier. I speak 4 languages (including English and French) and have sufficient funds to settle straight away.

I have read loads of blogs/forums etc and I haven't quite found an answer to my question: how does one apply for a job without having a work permit or PR? We have trawled various job sites and the majority of employers advertising there state that you need to have permission to work in Canada before applying. But how can you get a job offer to boost your application for PR, when you have to have PR or a work-permit to apply for work? Arrggghh. I am so frustrated, please help!

Also, did I read correctly that an employer would not need to apply for a LMO if this is just an interim offer based on the condition that the prospective employee obtains PR first? If so we have a Canadian citizen friend who is in the process of starting his own business who would like my husband to work with him - however he's not quite ready to be applying for LMO's yet.....

Many thanks to whomever replies, and may I say this site is GREAT. So much information, so many people in the same boat! Let's all help each other and maybe one day we can organize a reunion in Canada!!

eduardoF

Oct 15, 2008