+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

What are the consequences of having a criminal record?

deadbird

Jan 9, 2016
I don't have a criminal record. But am interested in comparing Canada's laws with other countries. Does it make it difficult for you to (1) Get a job (2) Housing (3) A driver's license (4) Travel, etc?

Also what are some common ways to get a criminal record? Off the bat I can think of DUI, drug possession, shoplifting, domestic violence, sexual assault, hit and run, arson, etc. How do they compare in severity?

I know this is a wide and nuanced topic, so if you can share some references as well that would be great. General rants and opinions are welcome too! :)

meyakanor

Jul 26, 2013
Visa Office......
CPP-Ottawa
App. Filed.......
16-02-2012
Doc's Request.
26-02-2013
AOR Received.
21-03-2012
Med's Request
21-03-2013
Passport Req..
16-04-2013
VISA ISSUED...
29-04-2013
LANDED..........
16-05-2013
I'm not an expert, but from what I understand, there are three major classifications of criminal offenses: indictable, summary and hybrid.

From the perspective of immigration, hybrid offenses (such as DUI) are considered indictable, regardless if the actual charge is pursued summarily.

But for the purpose of applying for citizenship, the ruling of Ahmed vs. Canada provides precedence for more flexible interpretation of hybrid offenses where the judge has elected to proceed by ways of summary conviction.

http://reports.fja.gc.ca/eng/2010/2009fc672.html

https://defencelaw.com/criminal-charges-impact-on-citizenship/

So if you got charged of a hybrid offense, but eventually got convicted summarily, then there may be a way to avoid the 4-year bar for indictable offenses (again, a consultation with a lawyer may be required).