+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

visitor visa for adopted child

yaseen123

Jun 13, 2018
I am a male Canadian resident married with 3 children living in Ontario. I have been successful in winning court custody and court decree issued in Hyderabad, India for my niece who is 9 years old. I am her maternal uncle.

There is now no one to care her in India as until now my parents who are my adopted child's(neice) grandparents were looking after her are now leaving to Australia.

Can I apply for visitor visa for my adopted child urgently and then apply fo residency application in Canada when she joins us in Canada. I am so stressed.

If yes what steps and documents for visitor visa I should supply

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Is she an orphan? Think the likelihood of her getting a TRV are extremely low (probably zero) given she has no ties to India. In general you will have a hard time sponsoring her even with the adoption. This could be a long process.

Bryanna

VIP Member
Sep 8, 2014
I am a male Canadian resident married with 3 children living in Ontario. I have been successful in winning court custody and court decree issued in Hyderabad, India for my niece who is 9 years old. I am her maternal uncle.

There is now no one to care her in India as until now my parents who are my adopted child's(neice) grandparents were looking after her are now leaving to Australia.

Can I apply for visitor visa for my adopted child urgently and then apply fo residency application in Canada when she joins us in Canada. I am so stressed.

Has you adopted her on the basis of the eligibility guidelines of CARA (India Central Adoption Resource Authority) for international adoption by a family member?

Reactions: scylla

canuck_in_uk

VIP Member
May 4, 2012
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
06/12

Having custody of a child is VERY different than adopting a child. You need to clarify the situation.

Reactions: hobo-mobo

yaseen123

Jun 13, 2018