+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

[urgent] student permit expired, waiting on PNP application

t_wen

Sep 15, 2013
Hi all,
i'm currently going through a lot of trouble with an immigration lawyer who is not committed and fleecing money off me constantly.

i was a student with a Malaysian passport residing in Vancouver BC who has completed course earlier this year with a student permit that expires 20th December. (2 days ago)
i have sent off an application to BC PNP for a work application around last month, was told by my lawyer that i would have implied status up to 2 months and would have to apply for a 6-month TRV in order to remain in Canada for the duration of the PNP processing (which was 8~9 months).

i am currently still in Vancouver and out of status as my student permit expired on 20th Dec and now my lawyer is forcing me to hire him to apply for a TRV urgently as he says i am not under implied status. i am really confused as he mentioned about having an implied status earlier and now he has changed his opinion. also very upset as this lawyer has been asking me to pay constantly for consulting but only answering one question at a time and demanding more payments.

please advice!

sabby2612

Mar 14, 2013
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hi,

I understand the situation you are in right now. I couldn't understand completely if your study permit expired or your work permit. I am assuming you had one year work permit which expired on 20th December and now you do have 90 days period to apply for restoration of your status. You needn't even hire this stupid lawyer. You can apply on your own by going through my cic login.

Also, do you have a written contract (agreement) with this so called lawyer? Is he/she a lawyer or a consultant?

t_wen

Sep 15, 2013
hi sabby,
thanks for the reply. yes i was on a one year student permit that expired on the 20th of December.