+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

URGENT HELP PLEASE! Study Visa Rejected. Only one reason?

studentatuvic

Nov 20, 2015
Hello, I recently applied for a student visa and got my passport processed in exactly one week. Yesterday, I got my passport back with a refusal letter with only one reason crossed on the back, which is:

Pursuant to Section 219 of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, I am not satisfied that you:
have sufficient and available financial resources, without working in Canada, to pay the tuition fees for the course or program of studies that you intend to pursue.

The thing is I was planning to work part-time.

My mother is my sponsor and I have submitted a bank statement for the past six months and a bank confirmation letter, also an affidavit. She has about $60,000 in her bank account and since I'm a transferring student I only have to do 3 years in Canada. The three year tuition + living at uVic for me was about $80,000. Also, I heard that you only need to show your tuition for one year + living expenses for one year + $10k + $3k. I have all that and yet I was rejected. Please please help :(

studentatuvic

Nov 20, 2015
I think I know the reason, it might be because the bank statement shows only about $28,000 CAD while the rest of the funds are in fixed deposits. However, I had attached a bank balance confirmation which clearly states that my mother has $60,000 CAD in her bank account. I think it was a mistake by the VO; he might have only gone through the bank statement disregarding the bank balance confirmation. What should my next step be? Please help.

Xhizor08

Oct 20, 2015
Hey, although i dont think i can help you with your situation but i noticed you are going to University of victoria. I am planning to start from Jan if i can get my visa or defer my admission to May if not. Thought it would be good to stay in contact as we may be in a similar situation

studentatuvic

Nov 20, 2015
Xhizor08 said: