+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

UBER DRIVER

Aug 17, 2019
I'm an Uber driver here in Nigeria, so due to the economic situation here, I'll like to emmigrate to canada to be an Uber driver with my family. What are the necessary steps to take?

zardoz

VIP Member
Feb 2, 2013
Canada
Category........
FAM
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
16-02-2013
VISA ISSUED...
31-07-2013
LANDED..........
09-11-2013

gir_8

Nov 23, 2014
Hello Everyone,

1. I am a permanent resident of Nova Scotia, Canada from 2019 and a valid NS Class 5 drivers license valid till September 2025.

2. Having struggled for a year in the Canadian job market during a pandemic period, I decided to apply for delivery services like UberEats. After processing for almost 2 months, I got UberEats activated but observed only few deliveries 1-2 max per day and the per delivery pay is only $3-4.

3. As I learned Uber rides also started its services in Halifax in December 2020, I inquired with the Uber Support and I was told that I am eligible for UberX. Accordingly, I followed their in-app process, spent my time, money and energy to get all the documents viz. RCMP background check, RMV Driver's extract, Child Abuse registry check etc.

4. I noticed that the Uber support team rejected my driver's extract a couple of times. On enquiring, I was told that the Driver needs to have three years experience. On checking Uber.com-(https://www.uber.com/ca/en/drive/requirements/?city=halifax), I found that it only requires driver's to have 3 years of experience (It doesn't specify that the experience has to be local-NS, Canada). However, Uber Support clarified that Driver needs to have local driving experience.

5. I found this condition of three years of Canadian experience discriminatory in nature, so I checked the Canada Human Rights Act to double-check. In Summary-