+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

travelling from Germany to Canada via the U.S. to activate the perm. res. status

thenic

Dec 19, 2012
Hello,

I am planning to travel (well, move back) to Canada in January to activate my perm. res. status.

I am a german citizen, who currently also resides in Germany.

I was wondering, if it is possible to fly via the U.S. (simple layover) to Canada, since those flights are often cheaper. Or if it simply makes it too complicated and something to avoid, esp. when residency isn't as clear as it is in my case (moving - don't have the pr card yet, since I need to go through immigration again)?

I am somewhat confused by the ESTA agreements and haven't travelled through the States since they became introduced.

More specifally, normally, I was able to travel under the Visa Waiver Program, since I am still a German citizen. I also found, when I was a student and later a worker in Canada, that I never had any problems to either travel through there or go for holidays or business. However - there are few things, that aren't so clear this time:

1) the return part of my ticket would only be in August (Calgary-London-Frankfurt, so not via the US), which brings it way beyond the 90 day rule ..

2) I assume, that it will be interpreted, that my 'trip' ends in Canada .. because I am going back there with the intention to activate my papers and live there ... which, based on my understanding, takes me out of the visa waiver eligibility and requires me to get an actual visa (I assume visitor, since there isn't really a transit visa for private individuals?). for a 4h layover in dallas.

I am grateful for any advice. Tried to get in contact with the Can. Embassy, the U.S. embassy, and the 'auswaertige amt' here, but I am kind of concerned about the upcoming holidays and that this might put a lot of delays on a lot of things .. including visa applications..