+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Super Visa confusion

junketsu

Mar 23, 2015
Hello, I am now a permanent resident and I want to bring my parents to live in Canada. They're in Costa Rica at the moment.

It is my understanding that one requirement for sponsorship is to have three years of Canadian taxes done. Since I just became a permanent resident, it means I cannot apply at all until after three years, right?

... so meanwhile, I have considered a Super Visa. I don't really understand the concept: everyone says that it is valid for 10 years, but it only serves for 2 years? What? What does that even mean? Can they live in Canada for 10 years? For 2 years? What happens after 2 years? Do they have to return to Costa Rica? Then what, they cannot return until 8 years later? I don't get it.

prforme

Aug 6, 2015
Category........
Visa Office......
ndvo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-jan-2015
AOR Received.
17-apr-2015
IELTS Request
Ip on 9 Oct 2015
File Transfer...
24-mar-2015
Med's Request
Remed req 14_12_2015
Med's Done....
10-dec-2014
Passport Req..
DM on 10 Jan 16 n ppr 11 jan 16
junketsu said:
Hello, I am now a permanent resident and I want to bring my parents to live in Canada. They're in Costa Rica at the moment.

It is my understanding that one requirement for sponsorship is to have three years of Canadian taxes done. Since I just became a permanent resident, it means I cannot apply at all until after three years, right?

... so meanwhile, I have considered a Super Visa. I don't really understand the concept: everyone says that it is valid for 10 years, but it only serves for 2 years? What? What does that even mean? Can they live in Canada for 10 years? For 2 years? What happens after 2 years? Do they have to return to Costa Rica? Then what, they cannot return until 8 years later? I don't get it.