+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Study permit + PGWP for CPA

Snoopinons

Jan 7, 2021
I'm an international student, currently on PGWP and applying for PR (CEC) in Feb 2022. I already have a year of experience at an NOC B job, which fulfils the criteria for CEC.
In additon, I am also planning to start my CPA PEP from Western school of business in Sept 2022 but it requires a study permit to start. Here's a couple of my questions I've got:
  1. Since CPA PEP requires a study permit to participate in the program, can I hold both a study permit and a PGWP?
  2. If I have both a study permit and PGWP, will that affect my PR application? CPA is considered part time education.
Fellow international students please advise, this is giving anxiety :(

Princes2020

Jan 1, 2020
First of all I think your query is in the wrong group.
Your WP must have some restrictions and I assume one will be you’re not allowed to study. I never heard of possibility of having both WP and SP simultaneously. If you apply for SP, your WP will likely be cancelled and you won’t get another PGWP as you get it only once in lifetime.
I think you should first get your PR and once you have it you can do whatever you want to.

PaulAbhik23121989

Star Member
Sep 19, 2017
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Category........
CEC
I'm an international student, currently on PGWP and applying for PR (CEC) in Feb 2022. I already have a year of experience at an NOC B job, which fulfils the criteria for CEC.
In additon, I am also planning to start my CPA PEP from Western school of business in Sept 2022 but it requires a study permit to start. Here's a couple of my questions I've got:
  1. Since CPA PEP requires a study permit to participate in the program, can I hold both a study permit and a PGWP?
  2. If I have both a study permit and PGWP, will that affect my PR application? CPA is considered part time education.
Fellow international students please advise, this is giving anxiety :(