+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Study Permit Extension issues...HELP?!

johnlemon

Aug 15, 2019
Here's the situation.
My study permit expires on September 30th, 2019 as well as my passport expires in June 02, 2020.
I've been studying in canada for last 4 years and this is supposed to be my last year of high school(gr 12), which it's program ends on June 25th, 2020.

Yesterday, Before I knew my passport was expiring so early, I applied online for an extension of my study permit and the form itself was successfully submitted but I couldn't link my application to my GCKEY.

Now I've realized that I have to renew my passport before I can get the study permit extended.
I went and filled a form to cancel the application at the cic website, which can take 2-5 business days for them to get back. So.. here's my question. If they don't get bak with me with canceling my previous application, will it be a problem for me to extend my study permit in the future?(just because there are two applications)

I'll be able to get the passport renewed approximately in 10 days, which leads me having about maybe A little over a month to apply for an extension before the study permit expires. Is this way too late? It did say I should apply at least a month before the study permit expires and I can stay as what my study permit is until they make further decision about accepting or denying extension, even if the study permit expires.

I know i'm super late about this whole process but is there any reason to you guys that I should be paranoid about this? Ever since last night I can't even go on a day without fearing the fact that I'm gonna have to go back and this was supposed to be my senior year..

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Cheers

captainarabiia

VIP Member
Mar 17, 2015
Winnipeg
Visa Office......
Riyadh Visa Office
App. Filed.......
22-02-2018
Passport Req..
11-03-2018