+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Start studying on ICE visa while awaiting Express Entry application to be processed?

flognity

Sep 24, 2019
Germany
Category........
FSW
Visa Office......
Ottawa
NOC Code......
App. Filed.......
26-02-2020
AOR Received.
26-02-2020
Passport Req..
01-12-2021
VISA ISSUED...
13-12-2021
Hello,

I already have an IEC work permit, which I’m going to activate on April 22nd 2020. It will be valid for 1 year. I am also in the Express Entry Pool with a CRS score of 453. On April 1st, my score will jump to 478, since I will have completed another year of work experience (unfortunately, only full years count). Thus, I am quite confident that I will receive an invitation to apply the by the end of April next year.

My question now is a bit more difficult to answer. I have a Masters Degree in Physics and I would like to start my PhD studies at the University of Toronto. The application deadline for a start in September 2020 is on the 2nd of December this year. How should I proceed here concerning my visa and legal status in Canada? Since I am confident, that I will receive my invitation to apply for express entry within the next 6 months and since I already have a 1 year work permit, should I apply at the University as a new permanent resident? In my “worst-case” scenario, I would have to start studying on the IEC visa while my express entry application is being processed.

What do you think?

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Hello,