+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

SOWP without exemptions letter

SeaPanda

Sep 14, 2020
Hello,

My spouse have been approved for Open Work Permit... I‘m the main applicant (Study Permit). Can she travel to Canada with me without exemption letter? Does she need a job offer to request an exemption letter from IRCC?

Reactions: Sad93

janesama

Aug 14, 2020
Category........
WP
Job Offer........
Yes
App. Filed.......
22-04-2022
Med's Done....
13-08-2020
LANDED..........
16-11-2020
This link is for international students, as my spouse will be under a spouse open work permit, will this link still be applicable.
Depends on the airport you do your first check-in at. Whether to register you for the flight or not is at their discretion

SeaPanda

Sep 14, 2020
But you said you are a student. Is she not travelling with you?
I’m a student and my spouse is travelling with me, however I read from the IRCC website even spouse have to request exemptions letter from them... also, both of us have valid eTA already. I don’t know whether my spouse qualified to travel with me on non-discretionary purposes...

Naturgrl

VIP Member
Apr 5, 2020
I’m a student and my spouse is travelling with me, however I read from the IRCC website even spouse have to request exemptions letter from them... also, both of us have valid eTA already. I don’t know whether my spouse qualified to travel with me on non-discretionary purposes...
Did you read the link above I provided? It clearly states if spouse is travelling with student, they don’t need authorization.

SeaPanda

Sep 14, 2020
If immediate family members want to be with you in Canada
Your immediate family members may be able to come with you to Canada.

If they travel with you
They don’t need a written authorization from IRCC to travel with you. However, they must show that their reasons for travel are non-discretionary (non-optional). For example, they’ll help you get established and support you in Canada.