+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Several doubts about residence, address, driver's licence, OHIP and taxes

joaquinfawler

Feb 20, 2023
Hello

I am a new permanent resident with my family. We are going to do a soft landing in July for 2/3 weeks and then we will come back in March 2024, always in Ontario (somewhere in the GTA).

I have several doubts about my address and residence in Ontario and my driver's licence, OHIP, and tax forms. I have reviewed the information provided on the official websites and NextStopCanada but I could not solve them yet.

After my soft landing, I am not going to live regularly in Ontario since March 2024 but I will have a mailing address in Ontario since July and also a bank account linked to that address in Ontario.

On the one side, I'm planning to obtain my Ontario driver's licence converting my out-of-province licence. I have 2+ years of driving experience (no exchange). I will bring all the required documents, and take the eye test and the written test (previous booking).

On the other hand, I'm planning to apply for the OHIP in July 2023.

My questions are:
  1. When I will be considered a new resident of Ontario? In July 2023 or in March 2024? Can I keep my residence in Ontario since July 2023 with my mailing address?
  2. Should I need to present my tax forms in 2024 for the 2023 year taking into account my soft-landing and mailing address?
  3. The 60 days period to convert my out-of-province licence will start to be counted on July 2023 or in March 2024?
  4. When I book an appointment to the written test for the licence driver, it implies that I am also booking an appointment for the road test? Or there are two different appointments? I am going to be able to take the road test in the same moment and day to obtain the full licence?