+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Self Employment - SkipTheDishes Uber Eats etc .

maple007

Jan 18, 2019
Hi ,

I have a query , and hope someone can help me out with this .

I am self employed , skipthedishes , uber eats etc .

I have an issue , I worked more than 20 hours a week in May , in my case we don't have pay slips pay stubs etc , employer doesn't report taxes .

If I file my income taxes next year , without working from today until end of Dec , then will it make any difference ?

How does CIC know about working more than 20 hours/week ? Is it from our tax returns ?
And if that's the case , and I don't work now until next year , am I good ?

I am a full time student .

selvakk

Champion Member
Nov 28, 2018
Hi ,

I have an issue , I worked more than 20 hours a week in May , in my case we don't have pay slips pay stubs etc , employer doesn't report taxes .

If I file my income taxes next year , without working from today until end of Dec , then will it make any difference ?

How does CIC know about working more than 20 hours/week ? Is it from our tax returns ?

Honestly, I was considering being a bicycle courier in my free time with these kinds of companies, when I am going to go to Canada and did a bit of research about the taxation laws. None of these services really track your time, unless you are riding a car and they track it so that you are not working continuously.

I never got a good answer about how 20 hours are counted and how exactly you could remain legal, so I shelved the idea. It's honestly, from my research a real grey area. The only way they could be tipped off, is if your income was significantly higher than what one would earn. I am honestly not that well versed with the tax forms, but from the tax form that you have to file, it doesn't look like you need to mention the hours worked or even the amount you made per month.

https://www.canada.ca/content/dam/cra-arc/formspubs/pbg/t2125/t2125-19e.pdf