+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Seek refuge at US Canada borders

UnDyInG

Apr 2, 2018
Hello everyone,

I'm currently a student in the US (expired visa), and my family is living in Canada legally, and they have work permits, I'm from Syria, and I'm planing to come to Canada via official port of entry, and seek asylum on that point.

Based on what i saw, Canada has an agreement with US (Safe Third Country), and that i'm exempt from this agreement because i have a family working in canada.

I was wondering if you know the answers to the following questions :

1- Is there a chance that they would deport me to US - or worse to Syria ?
2- After going to hearing, how long will it take to get a PR card ?

Thanks a lot

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
It is currently taking around 20 months or more to get a hearing for asylum. It would take 25 months after that to get PR. I would assume it may take around 5 years because wait times will like continue to increase. Not knowing your case nobody can guarantee you might not be returned to the US. Highly doubt you would be returned to Syria but don't know anything about your background so can't say 100% yes.

zardoz

VIP Member
Feb 2, 2013
Canada
Category........
FAM
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
16-02-2013
VISA ISSUED...
31-07-2013
LANDED..........
09-11-2013
Hello everyone,

I'm currently a student in the US (expired visa), and my family is living in Canada legally, and they have work permits, I'm from Syria, and I'm planing to come to Canada via official port of entry, and seek asylum on that point.

Based on what i saw, Canada has an agreement with US (Safe Third Country), and that i'm exempt from this agreement because i have a family working in canada.

I was wondering if you know the answers to the following questions :

2- After going to hearing, how long will it take to get a PR card ?

Thanks a lot