+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Salary/Wage discrimination

SpoonRaccoon

Jul 26, 2014
Category........
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
My fellow immigrants,

I've read many things about salary or wage discrimination so I would like to ask people here if they have experienced such things and some details.
I graduated from a University in Alberta(international student) and got a job right after graduation as a software developer also in Alberta. My starting salary was $55k which at the time looked like a lot. After a few months, all my friends that I graduated with also got jobs and I was surprised that they were all making $70k+! Because I had a contract for 12 months, I couldn't quit that job. After that, I got another job doing the same for $76k. I wasn't impressed or happy. I was more like "about time I get paid the same others get paid." Now, with 3 years in this industry, I got another job for $90k but not after getting offers for as low as $40k!! I didn't even reply to that offer and then they emailed me again offering me $60k. I was like what??? I didn't reply and after a few days they called me and offered me $70k saying that's the highest they will go. I can't help it but think these poor salaries were offered because I'm a minority.

Any similar situations you can share?

vermanaman

Nov 12, 2013
Category........
Visa Office......
CPP-Ottawa
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
SpoonRaccoon said:
My fellow immigrants,

I've read many things about salary or wage discrimination so I would like to ask people here if they have experienced such things and some details.