+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Returning to Canada after 3 years

lizlin

Sep 29, 2009
Hi

I first 'landed' in Canada approx 3 years ago in 2010, and stayed for one month. I am now planning to return to Canada for good this Oct 2013 and have a few questions which I hope to get answers to:
1. My 'Goods to Follow' list - there is no stamp on the list, I am wondering how I will be able to ship some personal belongings over. Do I have to call Border Services and speak with them?

2. How do I bring in money to Canada? Am I still entitled to bring in large sums of cash as long as it is declared since I am a returning resident?

3. Do the electrical appliances (e.g. LCD TV) work in Canada? I am from Asia.

4. I did not receive my PR card before I left Canada, how long would it take now to re-apply?

Thanks in advance

orly

Star Member
Oct 9, 2012
Guelph, Ontario
Category........
Visa Office......
London
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
11-12-2012
AOR Received.
01-01-2013
File Transfer...
09-01-2013
Med's Done....
15-11-2012
Passport Req..
Exempt
VISA ISSUED...
05-08-2013
LANDED..........
17-08-2013 (lived in Canada since 2012 though)
When did you land in 2010?

Make sure you are able to meet the 730 days requirement!

steaky

VIP Member
Nov 11, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
1) Yes, make sure you still meet the 730 days requirement.
2) You will have to hand your new goods to follow list to the CBSA officer at the airport and tell them the relevant shipping arrangements (after you hire the shipping compay in your home country and have documents such as bill of laden)
3) You can bring bank draft or cash. If amount greater than $10,000, you would need to declare. Fail to do so and get caught, the money would be seized and you would be fined. If you have a bank account in Canada, the easiest way is to wire the money to Canada. The bank will do the reporting for you.