+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Quebec Investor / Entrepreneur / Self-Employed

Shawarma

Jul 31, 2010
Hello All,

I have read every relevant thread within this sub-forum on this topic. Just want your advice on focussing on the 3 different options offered:

Investor candidate
Your intention to settle in Québec, your management experience, your investment agreement, your assets and their lawful acquisition.

Entrepreneur candidate
Your experience as a entrepreneur, your ability to successfully carry out a business plan, your efforts to acquire a business in Québec, your assets and their lawful acquisition.

Self-employed worker candidate
Your career and experience as a self-employed worker, your assets and their lawful acquisition.
My scenario is as follows, my father is over 61 years of age. By profession he is a Civil Engineer. What would be the best program for him to apply for and have my mother also get her PR as a dependent? I do understand that the above programs mention that you need to have "intent" of staying in Quebec. But is this enforced for Citizenship? I currently do not live in Quebec - and would like them to live with me. Is the self-employed class optimistic? Any experiences to share please?

I have heard that there are over 4 year long wait-times for the Entrepreneur candidate class, is this true? Is it challenging to find a business in Quebec towards the application? I've heard BC is extremely hard. Is the Investor class significantly faster? Does anyone have any timelines please? I didn't see anything online with regards to timeline. For the Investor class funds of $800,000:

• Do they all have to be paid at once?
  • Can the funds come from a relative? Atleast a part?
  • What is the typical return for investing it for 5 years? I heard somewhere it would be only about $40,000