+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PSWP expired due to school, what can i do? Please help!!

TrinhN92

Nov 18, 2018
Hi there, i graduated with a bichelor degree in science in 2014 and got a 3 years PGWP. I worked part time for about a year before get acceptted to be a research assistant for 8 month then went back to school for my Master degree. At that time my PSWP still have over a year left before expiration date. But by the time i finished my Master and the final date will be Jan 2019, the PSWP has expired. Can i do anything to get another work permit so i can find a job? Since after the final date, i only have 90 days before I have to leave Canada and finding a job without a work permit in less than 3 months is next to impossible. Has anyone been through situation like me?
Please help!!!!!
Thank you so much.

Bs65

VIP Member
Mar 22, 2016
A PGWP is a one time opportunity and once it expires there no second chance to get another one or extend the first one.To get another permit you would need to get an approved LMIA but of course you need a job for that.

Believe that until you get your completion letter you can at least work part time assuming your study permit is still valid. See here

https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/corporate/publications-manuals/operational-bulletins-manuals/temporary-residents/study-permits/campus-work.html#off-campus

You could I guess apply to extend your stay as a visitor

Reactions: scylla
Nov 28, 2018