+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Proof of funds question for Express Entry (Skilled Worker program)

shannonxtreme

Aug 25, 2018
Markham, ON
Category........
CEC
Visa Office......
Markham
NOC Code......
Job Offer........
Yes
App. Filed.......
22-06-2019
AOR Received.
22-06-2019
Med's Done....
30-07-2019
Passport Req..
12-02-2020
VISA ISSUED...
25-02-2020
LANDED..........
13-03-2020
I'm currently in Canada on a Post-Graduation Work Permit (PGWP) for one year and am working for an employer in the field in which I graduated. The job is a permanent position that extends indefinitely. It is not supported by an LMIA as my company has a policy against applying for LMIAs on behalf of foreign workers.

I'm creating my Express Entry profile and noticed that for the How much money will X bring with you to Canada question, I do not have the required $12,475 in my bank account. I don't see why I need it because:

1. I live with my aunt and uncle, who are citizens, rent-free
2. I have a salaried full-time job in which I already am working (and will have a year of work experience a month before my PGWP expires)

However, I can't use my pay as proof of funds in my PR application because it doesn't count as a valid job offer due to the lack of an LMIA. Is there any way in which I can explain this situation to CIC (lack of living costs etc)? Also, what would I specify as the answer to the How Much Funds question?

Peacekeeper87

Champion Member
Jul 18, 2018
NOC Code......
I'm currently in Canada on a Post-Graduation Work Permit (PGWP) for one year and am working for an employer in the field in which I graduated. The job is a permanent position that extends indefinitely. It is not supported by an LMIA as my company has a policy against applying for LMIAs on behalf of foreign workers.