+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Procedural Fairness: Conjugal partners

Kaila

Jul 18, 2018
Hello! My boyfriend and I applied for family class sponsorship under the conjugal partner category around 7 months ago, and we have since completed every task asked of us including his medical exam. We have now received a 'procedural fairness' letter from the immigration officer stating the following:

-----------

-----------

We have been in a long distance relationship for five and a half years now, and currently I am a full time nursing student half-way through my three year program. We have been unable to live together for 12 months (as common law) for financial reasons. The only way my boyfriend could have stayed in Canada with me for that long was via a visitors visa (at least that is my understanding) - and with this, he would not have been able to work. Due to the fact that I am a full time student, I am unable to financially support us both since he would be unable to work here without a permit. The reason we have not yet married one another is that we wanted to marry while we were in the same country living together. We did not want to be on opposite sides of the US/Canada border.

In this letter, it states that if we "can get married or can live together and establish a common-law relationship, this is what they are expected to have done before they submit sponsorship and immigration applications". This is where our concern arises, as we technically could have gotten married, however our values are as such that we did not want to marry just for citizenship.