+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PR Stamp in my passport

Metta0184

Jun 4, 2012
I'm waiting on my PR Card and I have job offer in Toronto where I currently live. I'm an airline pilot in the United States and commute back and forth with my US Passport. In order to start this job I need a Canadian PR card. I went through Customs in Montreal a few weeks ago and explained my situation and the agent put a stamp on the visa page and wrote PR along with his initials.

I was in a rush and forgot to ask if that was good enough while a wait on my PR card.

What you think?

Can I use this stamp while I wait on my PR card while putting a Canadian Address on my customs form.

Msafiri

Champion Member
Nov 18, 2012
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Seems you got a standard entry stamp....the PR annotation is for info purposes and will be picked up by the next border agent. No the stamp is not enough you will have to explain your situation at each entry.

Metta0184

Jun 4, 2012
Thanks for the info.

Do you know if there is anyway I can speed up the processing of my PR Card. I'm supposed to start mid February and I need the PR card by then. An MP that I'm talking to said to give him a copy of an offer letter and that could speed up the process. Do you have any experience with that or know anyone who does?

Cheers!

PMM

VIP Member
Jun 30, 2005
Hi

Metta0184 said:
Thanks for the info.

Do you know if there is anyway I can speed up the processing of my PR Card. I'm supposed to start mid February and I need the PR card by then. An MP that I'm talking to said to give him a copy of an offer letter and that could speed up the process. Do you have any experience with that or know anyone who does?

Cheers!
There is no chance that your initial PR card will be quicker than the posted time of 58 days. So count the days from when you "landed' and about 5 for mail to a Canadian address, that is when your Pr card should arrive.

links18

Champion Member
Feb 1, 2006