+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PR Card Married to a Canadian

Davidpapa

May 25, 2018
Hi

I am from Belgium. I did study and work before in Canada. Here I meet a girl and we have been married for about 6 months. My visitor visa expired 2 months ago but before that I did apply to extend the visa. So now I am waiting for an answer from the immigration. I am not sure how to speed up things at the moment. My questions are:

Can I apply for the PR card at the moment or I wait for the decision to extend my visitor visa?
If the extension is refused, can I apply for the PR card from Canada before I leave the country, from abroad or I should comeback as a visitor again and apply from here?

Thank you for this forum and for your time.

evdm

Jun 16, 2017
Under a spousal category, there are two ways that you can apply for PR, these are referred to here as Inland and Outland. IRCC uses the terms "Spouse In-Canada" and "Spouse Outside of Canada."

I am not a lawyer, so please don't consider the information below as legal advice. Some of it is just guesswork based on my personal understanding of the processes, and I may be wrong. Perhaps other forum members can weigh in, too.

First you will have to determine which stream you would like to apply under.