Star Member
Jul 13, 2021
Singapore
Category........
FSW
NOC Code......
App. Filed.......
01-07-2022
Hi, I'm moving in this Sep 2023. What are the few things that I should do in the first few weeks and prepare in advance? Here's a list of things I plan to do in no particular order:
1. Get a SIN number
2. Open a bank account
3. Look for a job (I'm currently a senior accountant, but as a newcomer I would be looking for jobs from scratch again. Is it better to start sending out resumes now or should I wait until I land in Canada?)
4. Get a driving license
5. Get a phone number

Please let me know if there're other tips or important things I should do before and after landing. TIA.

Reactions: coolcham

steaky

VIP Member
Nov 11, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hi, I'm moving in this Sep 2023. What are the few things that I should do in the first few weeks and prepare in advance? Here's a list of things I plan to do in no particular order:
1. Get a SIN number
2. Open a bank account
3. Look for a job (I'm currently a senior accountant, but as a newcomer I would be looking for jobs from scratch again. Is it better to start sending out resumes now or should I wait until I land in Canada?)
4. Get a driving license
5. Get a phone number

Please let me know if there're other tips or important things I should do before and after landing. TIA.
6) Look for a home and then add furniture

Naturgrl

VIP Member
Apr 5, 2020
Apply for provincial healthcare, get on waiting lists for a family doctor (may take years), find a place to live, figure out transportation (public or car), if kids (daycare or school registration)

If you don’t have work authorization then wait until you arrive.

Reactions: iSaidGoodDay

iSaidGoodDay

VIP Member
Feb 3, 2023
Kaneda
1. Get a SIN number
2. Open a bank account
4. Get a driving license
5. Get a phone number